Garmin GPS, Macbook Pro & Free Maps

March 21, 2010

While preparing for my journey, I am looking at ensuring I can update my GPS device while travelling.

Ok so here is the problem, I have a Garmin GPSmap 60CSx and a Macbook pro.
First of all the Gramin maps cost too much money, and they dont cover all of the area I will be travelling, secondly to convert them to work on the MAC is a bit of a pain in the butt.

My Requirement
What I need is a solution where-by I can transfer free maps onto my Garmin device, as and when I need them and without having to use a PC.

The Garmin device that I use can only take one IMG file at a time, again this wasn’t really convenient, I have a fairly a lot of space on the Garmin memory card and want to use it up with maps, meaning I don’t have to keep linking my Garmin to my laptop. To do this I need to be-able to compile multiple map IMG files into a single file, and load that onto the device.

There where a few different solutions out their on the web, but none of these really met my needs fully, so here is what I came up with.

Things you will need:-
A Mac
A Garmin GPS
Crossover (http://www.codeweavers.com/products/cxmac/)
GMaptool v0.5.0 Windows Setup (Windows GUI version) http://www.anpo.republika.pl/download.html
Some free maps http://gpsmapsearch.com/ http://mapcenter.cgpsmapper.com/catalogue.php

  • 1 ) Install crossover onto your Mac, once installed open the application.

  • 2 ) Start CrossOver software installer, from the CrossOver Menu.

  • 3 ) Select Other Application.

  • 4 ) Select “Choose installer file” then select the GmapToolSetup050.exe file that you downloaded. (This will create the environment to run the GUI GmapTool)

  • 5 ) Create a folder in your Documents folder and name it “Garmin Maps”.

  • 6 ) Place your downloaded maps into a folder within this folder. (for example I have a folder called cambodia that contains all of my maps for this country)

  • 7 ) Go back to CrossOver and select CrossOver Application from the CrossOver Menu.

  • 8 ) Choose the GmapTool. Once open select “Add Directories”.

  • 9 ) Click on C:/ in the file name box insert a /

  • 10 ) Select /users /crossover /My Documents /Garmin / (the folder you created with your img files in).

  • 11 ) You should now have all of your img files listed. To join them click on Join”.

  • 12 ) You now need to specify the output directory and filename, to do this click on the “Output File” button. Add a / to the end of file name and call your file “gmapsupp.img“. So your filename box should contain something like “C:/users/crossover/My Documents/Garmin/cambodia/gmapsupp.img. Click “OK”.

  • 13 ) From the Join Tab click “Join All”.

  • 14 ) The file called “gmapsupp.img” will now be in your “Garmin Maps” sub-folder, or where-ever you told GMapTool to output the file too.

  • 15 ) To get the file onto your device check out the excellent post here:- The Woodwork.

Peace & love

dx


4 Responses to “Garmin GPS, Macbook Pro & Free Maps”

  1. Anonymous said

    Can you provide more information on this? cheers

  2. What information do you need ? 🙂

  3. It is always great to share the innovative ideas with others on our demand.That is the main way for the people to know about the good types of techniques to equip it.

Leave a Reply

